Web Design and Development (level-3)

Web Design and Development (level-3)

Course Overview


The National Skills Development Authority (NSDA) aims to enhance an individual’s employability by certifying competiveness with skills. NSDA works to expand the skilling capacity of identified public and private training providers qualitatively and quantitatively. It also aims to establish and operationalize a responsive skill ecosystem and delivery mechanism through a combination of well-defined set of mechanisms and necessary technical supports.

Key priority economic growth sectors identified by the government have been targeted by NSDA to improve current job skills along with existing workforce to ensure required skills to industry standards. Training providers are encouraged and supported to work with industry to address identified skills and knowledge to enable industry growth and increased employment through the provision of market responsive inclusive skills training programme. “Web Design” is selected as one of the priority occupations of Information and Communication Technology Sector. This standard is developed to adopt a demand driven approach to training with effective inputs from Industry Skills Councils (ISC’s), employer associations and employers.

Generally, a competency standard informs curriculum, learning materials, assessment and certification of trainees enrolled in WET. Trainees who successfully pass the assessment will receive a qualification in the National Technical and Vocational Qualification Framework (NTVQF) and will be listed on the NSDA’s online portal.

This competency standard is developed to improve skills and knowledge in accordance with the job roles, duties and tasks of the occupation and ensure that the required skills and knowledge are aligned to industry requirements. A series of stakeholder consultations, workshops were held to develop this document.

The document also details the format, sequencing, wording and layout of the Competency Standard for an occupation which is comprised of Units of Competence and its corresponding Element


A competency standard is a written specification of the knowledge, skills and attitudes required for the performance of an occupation, trade or job corresponding to the industry standard of performance required in the workplace. The purpose of a competency standards is to:

  • provide a consistent and reliable set of components for training, recognising and assessing people’s skills, and may also have optional support materials  enable industry recognised qualifications to be awarded through direct assessment of workplace competencies
  • encourage the development and delivery of flexible training which suits individual and industry requirements
  • encourage learning and assessment in a work-related environment which leads to verifiable workplace outcomes

Competency standards are developed by a working group comprised of representative from NSDA, Key Institutions, ISC, and industry experts to identify the competencies required of an occupation in Information and Communication Technology sector.

Competency standards describe the skills, knowledge and attitude needed to perform effectively in the workplace. CS acknowledge that people can achieve technical and vocational competency in many ways by emphasizing what the learner can do, not how or where they learned to do it.

With competency standards, training and assessment may be conducted at the workplace or at training institute or any combination of these.

Competency standards consist of a number of units of competency. A unit of competency describes a distinct work activity that would normally be undertaken by one person in accordance with industry standards.

Units of competency are documented in a standard format that comprises of:

  • unit title
  • nominal duration
  • unit code
  • unit descriptor
  • elements and performance criteria
  • variables and range statement
  • curricular content guide
  • assessment evidence guide

Together, all the parts of a unit of competency:

  • describe a work activity
  • guide the assessor to determine whether the candidate is competent or not yet competent

The ensuing sections of this document comprise of a description of the relevant occupation, trade or job with all the key components of a unit of competency, including:

  • a chart with an overview of all Units of Competency for the relevant occupation, trade or job including the Unit Codes and the Unit of Competency titles and corresponding Elements
  • the Competency Standard that includes the Unit of Competency, Unit Descriptor, Elements and Performance Criteria, Range of Variables, Curricular Content Guide and Assessment Evidence Guide

Registration here

Apply Now